Better together?

Another week,  another blog! Hello people, I’m glad to welcome you back on my page again. Last week I talked about robots taking over and I hope you did enjoy reading it. But maybe “enjoy” isn’t the right word to use here. We are seeing more and more robots and if you asked me there is no doubt that they are going to make a big impact on our lives. I think it’s not all positive and enjoyable as you may have read last week. Therefore I would rather like to say I hope you found it “interesting” to read and maybe it triggered your mind and raised a lot of thoughts too. I had lots of thoughts about it and I also asked some questions in my blog. This week I would like to answer most of these questions to create new insights.

Robots are taking over people’s jobs. I think about this mostly negative. Nowadays there are a lot of unemployed people and a lot of times it’s hard to find a new job once you are unemployed. We should first make sure we get these people to work again before we start making robots that are doing our jobs for us. I know that letting a robot do the work is saving companies money and time maybe, but then again unemployed people are also costing the government money. There are always pros and cons and that’s why I think we should try to find a way where we are using robots to support people in work but not to take their jobs from them. Think about it, what if within 50 years all jobs are taken over by robots? What would that mean for the economy of our country? How do we make money than or will money disappear? What do we have to do all day……? All of these questions are questions that I can’t answer. No one can. I guess we just have to wait and see but we should take in mind that the human factor is still very important and we must not let these robots fully take over. Find a way to work together with them.

That brings me to the human part in all of this. For this part I collaborated with classmates Maarten and Alex. Collaborating with them was great and gave me more insights. Last week I asked the question is a robot doing a job better than a human could (with the Schiphol robot as an example). I guess that’s up to how the robot is programmed. A robot can only do what it’s programmed to do, right? So if you ask questions that it can’t define it won’t help you, or maybe it does something different than you asked. But what if a robot could think for itself, maybe a some point a robot out smarts us. Last week I mentioned this already referring to Moore’s law. Maybe you have watched the movie “I Robot” with Will Smith. What if this really happens one day? I think we can agree that we don’t want that… That’s why I think the human factor is still very much needed and important.  We must make sure that we humans will always be in control of the robots we create. And think about it, in services, would you prefer a human or a robot to talk to? A recent study has shown that 89% of us would prefer another human instead of a robot and I totally agree on that. The two most common reasons for not wanting a robot is that people often think that robots can’t understand them or they find it a scary thought to be helped by a robot.

To conclude there are a couple things I would like to say. You can think positive or negative about robots coming into our lives. I have told you some of both sides. But whatever you think, technology is evolving together with us humans. The only difference is, technology is going way faster than we are… That’s why we need to keep an eye on it and make sure that everything is controlled. But I’m sure that we can find a way to work together with robots to be more efficient than ever before!

To be continued next week…    technology-and-people

Geef een reactie

